The Beastie Boys – Jimmy James [1992]

It took me a while to really get into the Beasties. By the time they had put out Pauls Boutique, I was neck deep in hardcore breaks, rave and techno and sorta just missed all their releases around the golden period of 1989-1996. I was actually fortunate enough to go to one of their last Wembley concerts (with backstage pass) and had an absolute blast. I would say it was that concert that had me revisit their back catalogue. That and my better half reminding me how incredible Pauls Boutique is.

This being the first release AFTER Paul’s Boutique had showcased the Beastie Boys talent for breaking out of the mould they had been shoehorned into, it had some huge shoes to fill. To be honest, I think I may actually say that this track stands alone, better than any one track from Pauls Boutique. Its mature, its got some great rhymes and the beat is top notch. Whereas the entire album of Paul’s Boutique stands together as a twelve course meal of sample mayhem, Jimmy James is like the best damn burger you have ever eaten. Taken on its own, its a bloody masterpiece.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

