The Stone Roses – I Am The Resurrection [1989]

Fools Gold will forever be my favourite Stone Roses track but “I Am The Resurrection” comes pretty damn close. Not because the start of the track is classic Roses rock with some innovative lyrics and catchy hooks. No, its because at four minutes in, the planets decided to align and finish the last track on one of the greatest albums ever released, the right way. Gone are the lyrics, gone is the catchy riff of the previous four minutes, what happens next is pure divine inspiration. The band just seems to jam, pumped on the previous ten tracks and kicks the encore into overdrive. Its four minutes of some of the most inspirational music ive ever heard in my life. Its abso-fucking-loutely amazing, what a track.

From Discogs
Utterly fantastic debut and one of the best albums of all time (and I still think that’s an understatement!). Anytime I get a chance to introduce this LP to a new friend, my anticipation grows to enormous heights because I get to listen to it again, and each time I hear it, I feel as if I’m experiencing it for the first time as well. I think it’s impossible not to get lost in this recording and it’s world of sound and wonder.
This is truly a timeless sonic document of MAMMOTH proportions.
The Stone Roses are eternal…

The Stone Roses were one of many bands coming from the mighty Manchester following on from the likes of The Smiths, New Order (geographically not sonically) who paved the way for the Oasis etc.

Anyway, this album is a near perfect example of the late 80’s / early 90’s explosion of youth club culture where an indie record could be played next to a dance record and next to a rap record. All the songs are pure emotional bliss and even the shortest (Elizabeth My Dear) taking a riff from Simon & Garfunkel is miles better than the palest of imitators from the time.

The lyrics of each song match perfectly the accompanying artwork from John Squire, the tight drumming from Reni and slightly funk-driven basslines from Mani were always super tight with Squire’s lead guitar and Ian Brown’s understated delivery – truly an album of it’s time and still one of my favourites today.

If you like indie, dance or just generally good music you should have a copy of this LP or CD

No wonder St Etienne declared on the run-out groove to Kiss & Make Up that: “John Squire You Are My Guitar Hero”

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

