The Police – Walking On The Moon [1979]

So somehow I got talked into Tribute Fest today with a pretty eclectic lineup of coverbands doing what they do best. Playing almost perfect copies of crowd pleasing favourites to a park full of piss heads. Well friends, today, I will be one of those in the park. I have every intention of playing it safe, no wild booze stripping, stage diving or passing out in someones trunk.

While I couldnt give a crap about the Tom Petty or Johnny Cash, The Beatles, Journey, Dave Matthews… there is a Police cover band that im rather excited to see. This sadly does mean I have to get through six hours of other music before them. However, I reckon it’ll be worth the wait. The Police remain one of my fringe loves, with this track probably being my favourite track of all. The reggae influences abound, its a melancholic but upbeat classic that always puts me in a great mood. The lyrics? Pah, sure they make no sense but at least they are easy to remember! Happy Saturday all!

From Wikipedia
Sting said that he wrote the song when he was drunk:[1]

I was drunk in a hotel room in Munich, slumped on the bed with the whirling pit when this riff came into my head. I got up and starting walking round the room singing : ‘Walking round the room, walking round the room’. That was all. In the cool light of morning I remembered what had happened and I wrote the riff down. But ‘Walking round the room’ was a stupid title so I thought of something even more stupid which was ‘Walking on the moon.’

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

