Blue States – Walkabout [1999]

A serious downtempo stormer from Blue States, Nothing Changes Under The Sun was a landmark album for me at least. It was one of the very first to get me seriously into listening to downtempo tracks, comming at a point in my life where I was Techno’d out. The album sounds far more like a soundtrack than a mix of tracks, a testiment to the cohesion of the arrangements. This is one of the more whimsical offerings but I have a soft spot as it was the theme of my showreel that got me my first job in visual effects. A great way to spend 5 mins!

From Discogs
Nothing Under the Sun is astonishing — even though it’s Blue States’ first album, its mature production and careful attention to detail make it an instant classic. Its downtempo stylings are melodically perfect, with a tinge of sadness permeating the proceedings. “The Trainer Shuffle,” for instance, morphs and grows, continually adding instruments: a wistful trumpet, a Hammond organ, a muted brass band. The most famous track, “Your Girl,” makes you wonder why people even bother falling in love: the vocal sample complements the melancholy vibe. Both “Stereo 99” and “Spit and Soar” have a gorgeously dreamy quality to them; they’re songs that make you want to lie on a hill and watch the clouds go by. Easily one of the best downtempo albums of the decade.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment