Desmond Dekker – The Isralites [1975]

This got dropped on KCRW’s Morning Becomes Eclectic on Friday morning, I hadnt heard it in so long I went off. Enjoying myself so much I almost drove the wrong way down a 1 way street. Such is the power of this track. Likely known by any British man or woman over 20 years old as the Vitalite track. For some a little older, it’ll be because of just how MASSIVE Desmond Dekker was in the late 70’s and early 80’s. Cited as one of the first truly commercial stars of Reggae, Dekker released a massive back catalogue of truly great hits. But this’ll always rank at the top for me, I still have my Trojan compilation LP with this as the title track. Farking awesome.

And cause you can find just about anything on youTube nowadays, here’s the commercial too 🙂
Vitalite Commercial – Late 80’s

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

